top of page

The Birth of a Brand...hopefully,leading to the growth of our family...

This first post was going to be about our hand-sanitizer (oh yes, that's a link to the product, in case anyone needs to order) since Josh and I have both been in bed ill today, and it's that time of year! However, once I logged in, it seemed like this first post should probably be a bit about the "why" of the concept brand. The section of the website titled "Our Birth Story", is my professional way to write about the story. It occurred to me, that I am a writer, and perhaps this blog should be used to be honest about life on this path.

I have always been good at being the independent, single, strong-willed, strong-minded female. Being a mother, like being married, is a topic that I've never spent much time on because it was easier not to be disappointed when that desire didn't come true. Plus, I'm not the kind of woman who obsesses over it, gushes over babies, etc. I've never had a "baby fever", and until recently, hadn't even held a small baby. And nothing drives me more crazy than when women post about how women who aren't mothers don't know what tired is, etc. (come start a handcrafted business, ground up, your own money, & while single, then come talk to me about tired) AND there are a lot of variables on our path to a child that make it difficult to allow myself to believe it's even a possibility.

So as I began this post, I thought maybe there are women out there who didn't take a traditional path to motherhood, and who still aren't there, who might like to read sort of the less dressed up version of this life we live, and the path we are on. Of course, it might end up sounding more like rambling. If so, the hand sanitizer (yep, there's the link again) post will come shortly after :)

"Us" & yes, he was totally grabbing my butt in this pic

FOR BETTER OR FOR WORSE...

Josh & I have had a whirlwind love story, but it's also one that's complicated, and took basically 2 different lifetimes occurring to come together. We choose to focus on the positive, our love & friendship, and I realize that what I portray "socially" is just that, our happy place. Let me just say, it's fortunate we have known one another for over 20 years, dated 20 years ago, made a lot of mistakes and did a lot of growing up, before finding our way back to one another. Our first year together in business has been tough, and our first few months as a married couple have been more on the side of "for worse" than better. Thankfully, those obstacles serve only to make us stronger as a couple. We really just love each other, and at the end of the day, that love prevails.

However, those obstacles have also caused me some depression, confusion, trying to "find my footing" so to speak, these first months of marriage. (Like, I've cried in our walk-in closet, ya'll. Poor Josh was like, do I bring her supper up here, or what? Thank God he's patient with me) One night in hot yoga, it came to me that perhaps we could utilize our business to help us in this path. Naked Baby symbolizes my desire to help babies have a safe, healthy start in life; and help families easily do that. We've learned that people also really connect to our story, and the story of our company, Sweet Emotions. What if Naked Baby became not only about helping others, but about helping us? I ran the idea by Josh, and I wasn't sure what he really thought of it...

Christmas morning he had me go last to open a gift from him. Inside was a baby doll with a beautiful letter expressing that this year would be when we focus on our child, however it's meant to come. And that we would trust in God's timing. Quite possibly the most meaningful words I will ever read, besides the ones he wrote to me the morning of our wedding.

WE MAKE PLANS...& GOD LAUGHS

The topic of a child between us is one that arose gradually. Josh had the male procedure, the "V" after the birth of his daughter. At the time, he had his son, his daughter, was married, and thought done with children. I knew this fully going into our relationship, and it's why our relationship took as long as it did, because he felt it unfair for me to be with someone who couldn't give me a child....but, love prevailed, even when we tried to avoid it with one another; and now here we are, happily married, and faced with challenges of which path is right for us to have a child of our own. See, fairytale isn't quite so perfect.

Flashback 9 years, to when I lost my father, and in my heart I I always believed there would be a child that came to replace that heartache...of course, that's not been how life has gone. Then, I "re-met" the man of my dreams (listen ladies, he wasn't always so dreamy. lol. He'll admit that, & that's a different story for a different time & blog page) But, flash forward a couple years later, and he's evolved into a man that just couldn't be any more wonderful. One of the reasons I loved him first was for the amazing father that he is. I see so much of my Dad in him (& yes, I'm fortunate that my Dad knew Josh when we were younger and loved him. Josh always opened the door for me, and I never noticed at the time, but my Dad did) I cannot express how much I miss my Dad now, and wish he could be here to know Josh & the kids.

I literally have the man of my dreams...and I waited 38 years for my happily ever after. There just seems to be one piece missing for us; a child. Unfortunately, we cannot do that whole traditional thing (which, is actually fitting for us, since nothing about us seems to have come easily or traditionally), and the path will not be short or easy, or without great cost...but, as my Dad always said "no guts, no glory baby!" :) Hence, Naked Baby was born as a brand concept all its own. To help others, and help ourselves in this path...

bottom of page